top of page
Search

COMPASSION vs CORONAVIRUS


I don’t know if I ever remember any event from my lifetime that has engendered such global impact. I’ve been around awhile (Baby Boomer here) and remember my dad being gone during the Korean Conflict. The Vietnam War was brutal for so many. There have been many other challenging events in various countries across the globe, including other “flu” epidemics. This is my first pandemic.


Like you, I am currently quarantined in my little apartment. At least I have my faithful four-footed friend, Korky, a Yorkie-Dachshund mix, who gets me walking outside three times a day.


Perhaps you have also been scouring the Internet for news, information and even some humor to lighten the mood. I’ve been keeping in touch with friends and family via social media, and that’s when I ran across this photo taken in Italy. It stopped me in my tracks, brought tears to my eyes, and then I remembered…


The heart of God for humanity is so huge. His mercies are endless. His compassion is great. It goes beyond description. He will go to any length to remind people of His love for them - even cause sunshine in a cloud to look like an image of Jesus watching over the embattled nation of Italy. Bible verses about God’s compassion began to flood my mind.


“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning” Lamentations 3:22-23.


Shout for joy, O heavens, and rejoice, O earth, and break forth into singing, O mountains! For the Lord has comforted His people and will have compassion on His afflicted”

Isaiah 49:13.


“The Lord is good to all; He has compassion on all He has made.” Psalm 145:9


“When he saw the crowds, he was deeply moved with compassion for them, because they were troubled and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.” Matthew 9:36


In my book, At the Sound of His Voice, there is a chapter on “Compassion” which tells the story of my journey to the Mexico City garbage dumps to find one solitary man who had a dream. God met him that day because He is moved with love and compassion for every human being on the planet. It was a moment of realization that has impacted me for a lifetime. May the Almighty reveal His tender compassion to your heart today.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page