top of page
Search

THE PLIGHT OF THE HUMMINGBIRD

Recently I’ve had the opportunity for extended observation of a variety of hummingbirds around a feeder. One fella in particular caught my attention – he is an adult male of the Rufous variety. I’ll just call him “Rufus.” Rufus is the characteristic orange color on the back and belly with a vivid iridescent, red throat. Rufus made it his job to protect the feeder from all other hummingbirds.



He would hide in his fort (a large citrus tree) and wait until any other hummingbird showed up to partake of the nectar. As soon as the other birds landed on the feeder – ZOOM! Rufus would fly at sonic speed and dive bomb the intruders! He would literally repeatedly chase all the other hummingbirds as far away as possible with loud “chirping” sounds. These sounds are sometimes called “squeaks” or “twitters,” which to me sort of sounded like hummingbird “cussing out!” Then Rufus would return to his hiding place. He never would stop to take a drink himself.

Hummingbirds are naturally territorial, but Rufus “takes the cake!” I think that means that he wins the prize for being the baddest bird on the block. After watching these maneuvers for a very long time, I just told Rufus: “Dude! Why don’t you just share the nectar? That way you could actually enjoy it yourself too instead of spending all your time chasing away the other birds.” I don’t think he heard me, because day after day it was the same routine.

However, I do think I heard a small, still voice inside asking: “Why don’t you pause and partake of the sweet nectar of my love instead of protecting all your interests?”

OUCH! Got me!

Excerpts from my book, At the Sound of His Voice

“My love extends to you as a beautiful sunset touches the vast horizon. It melts into the water and is reflected in its depths. I want to reflect My love in the depths of your heart and fill you with the ocean of My love.”

“Waiting is actively giving your heart to the Father and allowing Him to fill it with His dreams for you.”

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page