top of page
Search

The Reflections of Love





When my daughter was about 3 years old, I began teaching her some of God’s word. The first scripture that she memorized was: 1 John 1:5 – “God is light, and in Him is no darkness at all.” I just loved hearing her sweet voice and seeing her expression as she would say those words.


God is light, and the Bible also tells us that God is love. I imagine we have all wondered - What does love look like? The book of Galatians tells us that love has many expressions or facets. The Spirit shows love in different ways: Joy, peace, endurance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.


Ladies, tell the truth. When you walk by a jewelry store window, do you stop and gaze at those beautiful diamond rings? I know I do! My favorite are the Le Vian Chocolate Diamonds. They look so delicious! Wow, how they sparkle in the window display! The light rays are reflected back through the facets or surfaces of the crown, which are partially broken, like rays of light passing through a prism. This division of light into the colors of the spectrum is the diamond’s “fire”.


I like to think that when God shines the light of His love into our spirits, He is able to see a reflection of His love in us. Sometimes our spirit glows with His joy or peace. Sometimes kindness, goodness and gentleness are reflected in our hearts. However God’s love shows up in our lives, it is a blessing to Him and to those around us. I would encourage us to be those sparkly diamonds that are so valuable and precious to the Lord!


Excerpt from the chapter on love from AT THE SOUND OF HIS VOICE:

"My love extends to you as a beautiful sunset touches the vast horizon. It melts into the water and is reflected in its depths. I want to reflect My love in the depths of your heart and fill you with the ocean of My love."

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page